The Invention of the Mind Movie and Why Ancient Times Sucked

Seeing as it has been some time since my last post I must start this entry with an apology: I’m sorry you’ve had nothing better to do than wait for a new post. No one regrets more than I this tardy behaviour of mine, probably because though I kid myself, few of you have sat poised on the page, crying into your pillows at night wondering why the world has stopped turning. If this is you, consider either therapy or better yet, consider donating money to the “motive me” cause. Blank cheques will be grudgingly accepted.

I would like to blame the university I attend for foolishly thinking that they required me to take exams and or attend classes at all in order to award me a degree. Nevertheless, I attended the exams that I was supposed to sit, and dutifully studied beforehand as well. However, when the last exam rolled around and an hour had gone by my mind was wandering. I realized this when I caught myself watching my mind movie of Les Miserables rather than writing about the French Revolution. [Mind Movie: when a person has seen a movie so often they retain the ability to watch it in their Brain Theatre – *see also: Subconscious Snack booth, *D-box seating available] At that moment I began to think what poor planning it was to stick the essay at the end of the exam, when energy is running low, and, consequently, why exams are placed at the end of a semester when all anyone wants to do is be done with it. The smart thing to do, really, is just test everyone at the start when they’re most enthusiastic and hope for the best. As my friend’s professor said: “some people can just not study and do amazing, others of you can study all you like and still not pass”. In other words, apparently if you’re not the brightest bulb on the shelf it’s best to just throw yourself off it and explode, rather than compete with the friggin’ fluorescents.

In any matter, at the end of the semester I find myself with amazing grades in History and less than par in Ancient History, both of which are taught by the same professor and have the same structure. I maintain that the people of ancient times were so far off base concerning the geography of the world, astronomy and notions that to determine if a woman was a witch one must attempt to “build a bridge out of ‘er”, that simply being able to read the exam is a pass. Using enlightenment thinking, it is also important to question every fact presented to you. By failing the exam I am simply emanating my understanding… English and Film Studies Major, I’m learning to talk my way around anything. Nothing is as it seems, the world is a web of interpretations, everything’s so existential… There is only one truth in Literary Studies: if you’re uncomfortable being completely insufferable, don’t study it.

It is also very convenient that my brain, usually so over zealous when I am trying to sleep, is so quick to go into hiding the moment an exam comes around. Like that relative everybody tries really hard to avoid all year, yet somehow manages to get ahold of your little league schedule and shows up to every game, but then mysteriously disappears when someone needs help moving.

In the end, the blog falls to the wayside when such injustices are being played upon my being, rather than allowing me to write about more important injustices. For example, the neighbour who is plotting to kill me and the white cat at my friends’ who is plotting to kill them. Assuming that no one suffers a death anytime soon I will try my best to be more diligent…but the fall semester starts soon.

Lectures Leave Me Like This Too

Shelley

Leave a comment